Blog 1: Mortality of a Husband and Wife

3 thoughts on “Blog 1: Mortality of a Husband and Wife”

  1. Heather, amazing Blog 1 for this book! I think you brought up amazing points for this book to be carried out in the rest of the blogs. As I was Blog 2, I focused very closely on what you wrote, and I carried off yours a lot in mine. My favorite points you made was about Mr. and Mrs. Ramsey. I think you made some great points about them. You mentioned how they are like opposite of each other. They both have different views on the idea of their mortality. Mr. Ramsey wants to preserve his life while Mrs. Ramsey wants to live her live. I also loved the premise you created. It made a huge impact on how I wrote my blog. I think you did a great job.

    Like

  2. Right from the beginning I also wondered what the lighthouse symbolized. Do you think Mrs. Ramsay’s positive outlook and more daring side influenced Mr. Ramsay to take his family out on the boat? It took him years after Mrs. Ramsay past and, before the exciting boat ride Mr. Ramsay never could really express or show how to have fun. I wonder if Mr. Ramsay was just overwhelmed and had stress from having eight children. Maybe that’s why he was always in a mood. He felt like he had too much responsibility and was scared of what could happen. He lived for the future instead of in the now.

    Like

  3. Hey Heather! I liked the way your blog flowed and slowly revealed what was exactly happening in this book. I originally struggled while beginning to read this novel, because I did not automatically understand the premise, but you articulated it very well and actually gave me a better understanding of the novel overall. This idea of the two opposing viewpoints of this couple’s mortality is what drives To The Lighthouse. It’s interesting that Virginia Woolf decided to kill off Mrs. Ramsey’s character who was the one who lived life without fear of her own mortality; however, it was an important choice to make in the narrative as death is inevitable and the only control we have is how we choose to live while we can.

    Like

Leave a comment