Blog 3: An Exceptional Man

2 thoughts on “Blog 3: An Exceptional Man”

  1. Rachel, this was such a well-written blog! I especially loved the closing paragraph- it seemed very powerful to me when you compared Dorian’s downfall to nature taking its course, and reminding us that everything comes to an end. One question I have, and correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought Sibyl’s death was a suicide? It could just be a small mistake though. I liked how you continued using the Great Gatsby that I wrote about in blog 2 to dive more into the connections- I really thought they were so similar. I think you could elaborate a little bit more on the hermeneutic code, and connect it to a situation from the novel. Otherwise, great job!

    Like

  2. I have never read The Great Gatsby. I also assumed this book was going to be different. I too believe that Dorian Gray’s downfall was a mystery. Dorian Gray turned evil and ugly after being such a gorgeous man. Why did he think outer beauty mattered more than his inner beauty? I liked when you said, “Not everything can last forever and one person cannot have the whole world.” This is a very accurate statement.

    Like

Leave a comment